A Rope is a Tool not a Crutch

China is no joke, kids! As I sit here in my boxers and Knicks jersey (Labelled Ewing #33  for those who are wondering) and bang away at this post (while sipping a tall can of Du Moulin…for those who are wondering), I can’t help but notice the deep contusion on my hamstring and wonder why I didn’t feel it when it happened.

I remember getting turkey-bucked in the pit and scrambling for the surface on one run today, but who knows. Coulda happened at any point during my sesh, really. In China, kids, if your board doesn’t pay the price, your body will. Just ask McGoon’s bloodied beak!

Which brings me back to the beginning. China is no joke. Especially when your leash snaps!! (Is it too soon to start lumping Creatures of Leisure in with that Firewire garbage?). Luckily, Sludge swillers are ingenious-by-nature and never let an equipment failure get in the way of one last run. Take note.

This is the second time my leash has failed me on the Big Juice and I have had to swim after my board. I didn’t panic the second time around, but I don’t wish it on anyone…even those HPC cats.

Anyways, here’s what you do if your leash comes apart at the joint that links the leash with the ankle strap. Flip your leash around and use a Chinese Knot (A Sludgey version of the Gordian Knot) to attach your leash to the little rope looped in the leash plug.

It actually held until the end of our session. Seriously.

Now take the other end of your leash and wrap it around your ankle. It’s a little small and the exposed velcro will be a bit uncomfortable…but only for rope-tuggers.

Take your what-you-thought-was-now-useless ankle strap and wrap that around for support…and style.

Now hit that pit!

One Response to “A Rope is a Tool not a Crutch”

  1. L’Anglais kicks knowledge the correct way.
    The rest of us use duct tape.

Leave a Reply

